Sunday Mornings

One of the blessings I received when my husband and I moved to Melbourne is my “ideal” work roster. I love that my husband and I have Sundays off.

My language of love is time so spending quality time with my husband is important to me. As we both have Sundays off, we could do things together and talk freely about anything under the sun. We are always busy over the week and even though we are together, our minds our always elsewhere.

My ideal Sunday is attending church together. This is the only time that I am excited to wake up early. We’ve been here for a year but we are still looking for a church to be a part of. I hope we find it soon. Depending on the church we go to, we plan the rest of the day around it. As long as we head home by 2pm then we’re good. Of course, coffee will be a part of it. If the church is in South Melbourne, then I go to Brazil Coffee, which is under renovation the last time I went there. If it’s in the west, then any cafe will do because that will be my chance to try their coffee. If it is in the city, then Industry Beans is my go-to coffee place. I highly recommend this. The oat flat white is fruity and sweet and well-balanced. Melbourne brought back my love for coffee.

Sunday is also a chance for us to try brunch places. Brunch, aside from coffee, is an important part of Melbourne culture. Aussies love their breakfast, I think. Brunch for me can either be just jam and scone, pancakes, or the big breakfast. But I noticed that it has evolved since then, I am now keen to try other “aesthetic” dishes–you know those with flowers and blueberries. 🙂 A few weeks ago, we tried baked eggs, which is the cafe’s version of shakshuka. I also had this nice baked salmon with asparagus and eggplant. That was the first time I finished a veggie side dish. It pays to be in an area with different cultures when it comes to food.

Trying new cafes and churches forces us to drive for more than 20 minutes. However, it is tolerable on Sundays because there are fewer cars on the streets. Furthermore, it is also a chance for my husband and I to talk more with each other, aside from us enjoying sceneries and the music as well.

I pray for more ideal Sundays for me and my husband.

Leave a comment