I still want it

The lines were not that long.  It was 5pm or should I say 6pm, but it was fine.  A part of me misses home but I like it here.  People here are so absorbed with their own thoughts.  But that’s okay, I am also absorbed with taking in as much as I can, of the culture here, of this place.  Hoping it will be stored in my memory, hoping that this won’t stay as memory, but as a reality.  This is the place I want to be in.  I want to live here. Yes, the people here can be cold, I guess that’s attributed to progress, but the place is warm.  I want to be around this cold, absorbed people.  Because I know that deep inside, they can still be warm.  They won’t be progressive without that innate goodness.  I just know it.  This place won’t be peaceful and disciplined without that kindness.  The bus finally arrived and I went inside.  I saw the lights and the stores and the buildings.  It is beautiful here.

Source

I can still remember that kind guy who really went out of his way to find this institute within the vicinity.  I just heard him speaking in Filipino and I found the guts to ask him for direction.  I thought he would just point me somewhere, but no, he went to the information counter asked for the direction, walked with me and took me there.  He even showed me the way to the bus station.  He bothered telling me his stories.  He was so kind.  I encountered kindness without expecting it.

I don’t mind working like a bee.  I know the honey there is good.  And the hive is peaceful.  I guess that’s what I want most of that place–the peacefulness in that warm place.

God I still want to be there.  But of course God, Your will be done.  Thank You.

3 thoughts on “I still want it

Leave a Reply

